SABC Confirms: ‘No Thobela FM SOTY Top 10 This Year’

In what has been a rough year for the Limpopo radio station including allegations of interference in choosing the rightful song of the year winner for 2019 between King Monada and Master KG, SABC has confirmed that no top ten song of the year list for Thobela FM will be made this year.

By Ronald DK Nchabeleng

ALSO CHECK: SABC Clarifies SOTY 2020 Tribalism Claims By Including Thobela FM

Earlier in the year, Thobela FM was accused of choosing the wrong winner for their 2019 song of the year.

Accusation arose when Master KG was announced as the winner, although many believed that King Monada was indeed the rightful winner.

Master KG won with his song Skeleton Move featuring Zanda Zakuza and King Monada was nominated for his hit song Malwedhe.

The issue saw the station’s presenter Kwenisto Makgakga been fired.

ALSO CHECK: Cassper Nyovest To Fill Up Two Stadiums In 2020

Now the station won’t have their official top ten songs of the year this year because of what transpired earlier in the year, SABC confirmed.

SABC wrote on their other social media platform Come Duze 2020: “Please Note This: the Thobela FM top 10 list will not be released this year because of the beginning of the year era about robbing an artist!”

Only Ukhozi FM will have the official top ten nominees for song of the year 2019.

Here are the nominees:

1. Master KG Ft Nomcebo – Jerusalema
2. Semi Tee Ft Miano & Kammu D – Labantwana Ama Uber
3. DJ Zinhle Ft Muzzle & Rethabile – Umlilo
4. Samthing Soweto Ft Kabza De Small & DJ Maphorisa – Akulaleki
5. TNS Ft Mpumi – Umona
6. DJ Tira Ft Joocy – Thank You Mr Dj
7. Ntencane – Wawuthembeni
8. Sithelo Ft Skywanda – Forever
9. Blaq Diamond – Ibhanoyi
10. Kaygee Daking Ft Bizizi & Killer Kau – Kokota